Doha: Tulukoota Qatar lifts maiden ladies throwball trophy organized by Indian Sports Center

Media Release

Doha, Oct 23: The Ladies Throwball Tournament was organized by the Indian Sports Center (ISC), under the aegis of the Indian embassy, on October 14 and 15 at Hamilton International School. In all. 12 teams from India and Sri Lanka participated.

The draws and trophy release were held on October 10 at Zaitoon Restaurant. Chief guest of the event was Suman Sonkar, first secretary from the embassy of India.

The 12 participating teams of the tournament were the Indian Women’s Association, Indian Warrior, Karnataka Sangha Qatar, Mangalore Cricket Club, Mangalore Cultural Association, Bunts Qatar, Qatar Tamizhar Sangam, Queen Bees, Star Sports, Tulukoota-1, Tulukoota-2, WISQ Ravens.

The grand opening ceremony on October 14 was graced by Dr Alpna Deepak Mittal, wife of Indian ambassador Dr Deepak Mittal, who motivated the women players. ISC president Dr Mohan Thomas, in his address, appreciated Anil Kumar Boloor, appointed as head of throwball, and the team. He also thanked the volunteers and sponsors for their support.

In his address, Boloor conveyed a message from Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz Al-Nasser, vice chairman and chief operating officer of Venture Gulf the event sponsor.

Mangalore Cricket Club won the first quarter-final match against Star Sports, While Tulukoota-2 lost to Karnataka Sangha Qatar in the second quarter-final. The third quarter-final was won by Mangalore Cultural Association against Queen Bees, and Tulukoota-1 was the winner of the fourth quarter-final against Qatar Tamizhar Sangam.

The opening day ended with the semi-finals. Mangalore Cricket Club won the first semi-final match against Karnataka Sangha Qatar in a nail-biting finish, While Tulukoota-1 secured a comfortable victory against Mangalore Cultural Association in the second semi-final.

On the second day of matches, Karnataka Sangha Qatar won the third place against Mangalore Cultural Association.

The grand final was played between Tulukoota-1 and Mangalore Cricket Club.

Tulukoota-1, the most balanced team in the tournament, won the final comfortably with brilliant performance by all the players.

Day 2 was graced by chief guest Mariam Farid, one of the first Qatari female athletes to compete in the world athletics championships. She motivated the players and was highly appreciative of the organisation and execution of the event by ISC.

Rukkaiya Pachisa, head of finance, ISC, welcomed the chief guest, players, and Sponsors. Dr Thomas applauded the efforts of his team and performance of the players and congratulated the winners.

Mariam Farid and guest of honour Harish Baliga, general manager of Venture Gulf, were honoured with mementos. Trophies, awards and mementos were presented to all the winners, supporters and sponsors.

The maiden ISC Trophy was lifted by Tulukoota-1. Star Sports won the Fair Play award. Muriel Merlyn of Tulukoota-1 won the Player of the Tournament award, while Aisha Mohamed of Mangalore Cricket Club begged the Best Receiver Trophy. Sujatha of Karnataka Sangha Qatar won the Best Attacker Trophy.

Boloor thanked the ISC president and his team, supporters, volunteers, all the teams and players of the tournaments, officials, sponsors and his family for their tremendous support. Reena Alex Castelino was the Master of Ceremonies for all three events.

ISC vice president Sheji Valiyakath, Indian Cultural Centre vice-president Subramanya Hebbagelu, ISC general secretary T S Sreenivas, ISC MC members Nisha Agrawal, Rajesh Kannan, Sippy Jose, Varkey Boban, Yawar Ali and Ravi Shetty, managing director of ATS (gold sponsor), V S Mannangi, divisional manager of AlMuftah Contracting Company (gold sponsor), Sanket Medhekar from Naseem Healthcare (gold sponsor), and many related associations’ presidents and managing committee members also graced the event.

Silver sponsors of the event Inara, Qatar Design Consortium and M. Pallonji, support sponsors Qatar International Electrical Co., Qatar Tech., Brunel, Canara Jewellers, Akshaya Jewellers, Malabar Jewellers, Akash Prakash Music & Entertainment, Tech International, AlMuftah rent a car, ORSN, Ali International Trading and Annual sponsor Play Buddy.

Jason, Arun Kumar, Ramachandra Shetty, Rukkaiya, Vijaya Shetty, Milan Arun, Kumar Swamy, Shridhar Nayak, Yashpal Puthran, Mohan Kudla, Sandhya Rai, Shiney Shetty, Smita Pinto, Krysh Kumar, Manas Shetty and V Kishore worked hard along with Anil Boloor for the success of the tournament.




Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Doha: Tulukoota Qatar lifts maiden ladies throwball trophy organized by Indian Sports Center

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.