Mangaluru: St Dominic’s School AICS Interschool Throwball tournament

Media Release

Mangaluru, Dec 14: St Dominic’s School, Mariashram, Badakabail hosted the AICS (Association of ICSE and CBSE Schools) Interschool Throwball tournament ‘Throw to Win 2022 -23’ for the AICS member schools of Dakshina Kannada and Udupi districts on December 13, in the school grounds.

In the midst of young and vibrant sports participants, their mentors and facilitators the chief guest of the day Lily Pais marched into the school grounds with the rythum of school band and was escorted by the principal Fr Arun Francis Dsouza, the correspondent Fr Reginald Dmello and the financial administrator Fr Sunil Christopher Dsouza.

The school choir began the inaugural ceremony by asking for divine blessings and graces. The teacher Hensita D’Costa accorded a warm welcome to each and everyone who had gathered. The lamp was lit by the chief guest, Lily Pais, as well as the principal, the correspondent, the financial administrator, and the PET teachers, Ravindra and Shilpa.

The chief guest Lily Pais, district president of Karnataka P ED committee declared the tournament ‘Throw to Win 2022 -23’ open by cutting the ribbon and throwing the ball into the court. The school's team took the oath under the direction of Jeevith Kumar, the sports captain of the St Dominic’s School.

A felicitation ceremony was held to honour the chief guest for her outstanding achievements. She ignited a sense of sportsmanship among the players and challenged them to throw with swiftness, sincerity, and mental stillness. Teacher Shweta delivered the note of gratitude. There were 16 AICS member schools participated in this Throwball tournament.

The evening of December 13 had an aura of victory for the winners and hope for the participants. The Valedictory programme began with a brief prayer by Sr Usha, in which she thanked the Almighty for the event's success.

The chief guest Julie T J principal of BRMP school, Bantwal encouraged the students to aim high and never to lose hope. The correspondent Fr Reginald Dmello appreciated the hard work of PET teachers Ravindra and Shilpa, all the teaching and support staff for meticulously planning the event and successfully ending the tournament. Fr Reginald Dmello wholeheartedly congratulated all the winners.

A heartfelt note of thanks was given by Sr Manisha. The master of ceremonies for the inaugural event was Teacher Jenifer Telma Pinto, while the valedictory was performed by Teacher Vidyashree.

There was great sensation of victory and joy as the names of the winners were announced

Winners - Canara School, Mangaluru
Runners - St. Dominic’s School, Mariashram
First Runner-up - Bethany School, Kinnikambla
Second Runner -up - St Mary’s School, Kinnigoli

The Throwball tournament ended with singing the National Anthem.


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Mangaluru: St Dominic’s School AICS Interschool Throwball tournament

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.