LS polls: Congress releases new list of seven candidates from Bihar and Punjab

New Delhi, April 22 (IANS): Days ahead of the second phase of polling, the Congress on Monday announced a fresh list of seven candidates for the ongoing Lok Sabha elections.

The list contains the names of five candidates for Bihar and two for Punjab.

In Bihar, the Congress has named Madan Mohan Tiwari from Paschim Champaran, Ajay Nishad from Muzaffarpur, Akash Prasad Singh from Maharajganj, Sunny Hazari from Samastipur (SC), and Manoj Kumar from Sasaram (SC).

Nishad, the sitting BJP MP from Muzaffarpur, quit the party after it denied him a ticket and joined the Congress, which fielded him from the same seat.

As part of the seat-sharing arrangements for Bihar's 40 Lok Sabha seats, the Congress is fighting on nine seats, while the RJD has been given 26 seats. Likewise, the Left bloc has been given five seats. These parties are constituents of the INDIA bloc.

Meanwhile, the party also named Yamini Gomar from Hoshiarpur (SC) and Amarjit Kaur Sahoke from Faridkot (SC) in Punjab. The party is not in alliance with INDIA bloc partner Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in Punjab, while it has an electoral pact with the newbie party in Delhi for the Lok Sabha polls.


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: LS polls: Congress releases new list of seven candidates from Bihar and Punjab

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.