Indian teams for World Jr Tennis Asia/Oceania final qualifiers named

New Delhi, May 16 (IANS): Indian boys' and girls' teams for next month's ITF World Junior Tennis Competition Asia/Oceania final qualifying round have been selected, but there is some uncertainty around the competition due to the raging Covid-19 pandemic.

The flights are not taking off from India due to the pandemic, and securing visas for Kazakhstan could also become an issue. "No flight is departing [from India] and we are still to receive visas. The original plan for the teams' departure is June 5. Let us see," said a source.

The competition is scheduled to take place at the National Tennis Centre in Nur Sultan, Kazakhstan, from June 14-19.

The All India Tennis Association junior selection committee met virtually on May 13 to select the teams.


Boys: Rethin Pranav RS, Kriish Ajay Tyagi, Tejas Ahuja, and Samprit Sharma.

Non-playing captain: Sajid Lodi

Girls: Samiksha Dabas, Riya Sachdeva, Raja Sarvagnya Kilaru, and Thaniya Saran Gogulamanda. Non-playing captain: Shalini Thakur Chawla



Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Indian teams for World Jr Tennis Asia/Oceania final qualifiers named

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image