Mangaluru: 17th ‘Kalakar Puraskar’ to be conferred on singer Nihal Tauro

Media Release

Mangaluru, Oct 14: The Kalakar Puraskar of the Carvalho Ghoranne (family) and Mandd Sobhann, will be conferred on famous singer and Sony TV Indian Idol reality show finalist, Nihal Hanson Tauro, Alangar.

The award will be presented by cine lyricist and Kannada litterateur Jayant Kaikini at the awarding ceremony, to be held in Kalangann on Sunday November 7 at 6.00 pm. He will be honoured with a cash prize of Rs 25,000, a memento, shawl, floral bouquet, fruits and a felicitation certificate.

Nihal Tauro, being an immensely talented vocalist, has lent his voice to many songs in different languages and genres. He has sung in 25 Konkani music albums, 12 films, 15 musical nites, 200 stage performances and 6 TV reality shows. His voice is also heard in musical compositions of 6 serials. Along with this, world has witnessed his talent on YouTube which is evident through his views.

As a jewel in the crown of his achievements, he was selected as one of the Top Five contestants, and only one from Karnataka, in the 12th Season of Indian Idol, a reality show nationally televised on Sony TV. This Award is being presented to him, in recognition of his eminent contributions to the field of singing, at a young age of 21.

Following this ceremony, as a part of the 239th monthly theatre, ‘Mandd’ the theatre group of Mandd Sobhann will be performing Shakespeare’s play, ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ written in Konkani by Arunraj Rodrigues and directed by Viddu Uchil.

The entire programme will unfold in the amphitheatre at Kalaangann. Admission free. All are invited.

About Kalakar Puraskar

This award was initiated by Fr Dr Pratap Naik, Goa in the year 2005 in the name of the ‘Carvalho Family’ and Mandd Sobhann to recognize those showing significant contributions in Konkani art forms like drama, folklore, music/singing and dance.

So far, this award has been conferred to Arun Raj Rodrigues (Drama), Joel Pereira (Music), Harry D’Souza (Brass Band), Fr Charles Vas (Devotional music), Anuradha Dhareshwar (Music), Santha Bhadragiri Achyutadas, Bengaluru (Harikatha), James Lopez, Honnavar (Brass band), Norbert Gonsalves (Instrumentalist), Francis Fernandes Cascia (Drama), Roshan D’Souza (Music), Christopher D'Souza (Drama), Avil Dcruz (Dance), M Gopala Gowda (Folklore), Adolphus Cutinha-Dolla (Drama), Irene Rebello (Voviyo-Vers), and Anita D’Souza (Singing).






Top Stories

Comment on this article

Leave a Comment

Title: Mangaluru: 17th ‘Kalakar Puraskar’ to be conferred on singer Nihal Tauro

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image